Return to Headlines

Superintendent and School Committee statement on transgender support


The Public Schools of Brookline

Brookline Town Hall

333 Washington Street, 5th Floor

Brookline, Massachusetts  02445


Andrew J. Bott


March 3, 2017

Dear Brookline Families and Staff,

Despite the recent rollback of protections for transgender students at the federal level, the commitment of the Public Schools of Brookline to transgender students and their families has not wavered. We want to make clear that our schools welcome, support and value all students including all lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning/queer students.

Massachusetts state law and the accompanying guidance from the state Department of Elementary and Secondary Education make it clear that Massachusetts schools are prohibited from discriminating against transgender students. The changes at the federal level have no impact or effect on our commitment to transgender students and their families.

Our district is actively upholding our promise that Brookline is a community of unconditional acceptance. Steps already underway in support of transgender and questioning students include a leadership group that is developing protocols and training for staff to support students and families, and is identifying resources for staff, students and families. We are also working to confirm that each individual school has easily accessible, properly signed, gender-neutral restroom facilities. While these actions are in motion, we recognize the opportunity for additional work to be done.

The Public Schools of Brookline believe that all students, faculty, staff and families – including LGBTQ students - have the right to learn, work and live in a safe and accepting environment. We will continue to support all of our students with the simple decency every individual deserves while we help them navigate a complex and always changing world.  We maintain our commitment to providing safe, open, and accepting school communities that respect and embrace all individuals.

Respectfully signed,

Superintendent Members of the Brookline School Committee

Andrew J. Bott Susan Wolf Ditkoff, Chairman

David Pollak, Vice Chairman

Ben Chang

Helen Charlupski

Michael Glover

Lisa Jackson

Julie Schreiner-Oldham

Barbara Scotto

Beth Jackson Stram

Further Reading: