Return to Headlines

Brookline Education Foundation announces 2019 Caverly Award Winners

Since 1984, the Brookline Education Foundation (BEF) has presented the Ernest R. Caverly Award annually to two Brookline educators in recognition of professional achievements and contributions to the Brookline Public Schools.

Caverly Award winners exhibit exceptional achievement and contributions to the Public Schools of Brookline (PSB) and exemplify the PSB core values:

  • High achievement for all
  • Excellence in teaching
  • Collaboration
  • Respect for human differences
  • Educational equity

Two awards are given annually: one to a high school educator and one to an elementary school educator. The educators receive this award in recognition of their dedication to the ideals of Dr. Ernest R. Caverly, a distinguished public school leader, educator, and Brookline Schools Superintendent. The Foundation is pleased to announce that the 2019 Caverly Award winners are:

  • Laura Vish, Speech & Language Pathologist at Runkle School
  • Mark VanDerzee, Drama Teacher at Brookline High School

Ms. Vish and Mr. VanDerzee, along with the 2019 BEF Teacher and Collaborative Grant recipients, will be honored at the Brookline Education Foundation’s Annual Celebrating Teachers event on May 14, 2019 at Newbury College.

For more information on the event, the work of the Brookline Education Foundation and its tremendous support of Brookline's schools and educators, please visit their website at