Return to Headlines

School Committee: Comings and Goings



On Tuesday, May 7, town voters elected Dr. Sharon Abramowitz to the School Committee, and relected committee members Helen Charlupski and Susan Wolf Ditkoff.

Ms. Charlupski first joined the School Committee in 1992, while Ms. Ditkoff was elected back in 2008. The new School Committee subsequently elected Julie Schreiner-Oldham as Chairman and Suzanne Federspiel as Vice Chairman for a one-year term at their May 14 meeting.

Dr. Abramowitz is an anthropologist and global health advocate. She has worked in community engagement, public policy and research through organizations such as UNICEF, Doctors Without Borders, the World Health Organization, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, and the U.S. Agency for International Development. Before moving to Brookline, Dr. Abramowitz was a professor of anthropology and African studies at the University of Florida. She has three children in PSB: one in BEEP and two attending Driscoll.


In a message to families and staff, Superintendent Bott thanked outgoing School Committe member David Pollak for his tremendous service to the Brookline school community. In the past six years, Mr. Pollak has served as chair of the School Committee, passing significant policy improvements on student wellness and the district’s code of conduct. Mr. Pollak also chaired the Capital Subcommittee when it oversaw the creation of dozens of classrooms and learning spaces within our buildings, and co-chaired the Building Committee that managed the design and construction of the Coolidge Corner School. His passion and expertise on capital projects, as well as his perspective, insight, and deep knowledge of Brookline were invaluable to the district.