Return to Headlines

School Committee: Comings and Goings

On Tuesday, June 9, town voters elected Dr. Andy Liu and Mariah Nobrega to the School Committee, and re-elected committee member Suzanne Federspiel.


Andy Liu holds a BA in philosophy from Harvard University and a PhD in mathematics from the University of California, Berkeley. Dr. Liu is a neuroscientist and works as a research fellow in neurobiology at Boston Children’s Hospital, where he does experiments to understand how cells in the eye sense light and communicate with the brain. Dr. Liu is a former Town Meeting Member, and he and Rachel Wilson have a son who is a second-grader at Pierce and a graduate of BEEP.

Mariah Nobrega holds a BA in Political science from NYU and an MBA from Northeastern, where she works in the College of Engineering.  She has been a Town Meeting Member since 2009 and was a member of the Brookline Advisory (finance) Committee 2015-2020.  In 2019 she was appointed to the Brookline Commission for Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Relations.  A near life-long resident of Brookline, Ms. Nobrega attended BEEP at Lynch Center, Lawrence School, and Brookline High School. She and her husband have three children at Brookline High School, Pierce School, and in preschool.  She was treasurer of the Pierce PTO from 2014-2019 and is in her first term as co-president of the Brookline High School Alumni Association.


Ms. Federpiel first joined the School Committee in 2017 and most recently served as Vice Chair of the School Committee. She has been an educator for more than thirty years in Connecticut and Massachusetts. Most recently she served as a special education teacher, a literacy coach, and then as an elementary school principal for the Boston Public Schools. She is currently a teacher mentor in Boston. In addition to her degrees in education from U-Conn, Storrs, and U-Mass, Amherst, Suzanne has an MBA from Boston University. She and her husband have lived in Brookline since 1985. Their two children attended Pierce School and Brookline High School.


The new School Committee subsequently elected Suzanne Federspiel as Chair and David Pearlman as Vice Chair for one-year terms at their first meeting following the election on Thursday, June 11.